MENA CSR Excellence Award

Daan Elffers, founder and CEO of EMG, has once more been appointed a member of the judging panel for the MENA CSR Excellence Awards, which this year will be held on 19th May in Dubai, UAE, as part of the 12th CSR Summit.

The purpose of these prestigious awards is to honour the outstanding achievements of organisations and teams that have been contributing to the progress of CSR and sustainability in the MENA region.  There are a number of criteria to be considered by the judges. Corporate responsibility must be embodied in the business philosophy and operations, and excellent standards must be seen to be upheld in terms of positive impact on stakeholders and innovation regarding sustainable solutions to social challenges.

The judging panel consists of experts and key stakeholders in the field, and includes representatives from NGOs, corporates, universities and international organisations. As Lydia Fowler, Divisional Director at Informa Middle East, has previously stated: ‘EMG has built an outstanding international track record for effectively strategizing and implementing CSR in business, the government and non-profit sector in the MENA region…. and (Daan Elffers) …  is therefore in a perfect position to qualify and assess the work submitted by our applicants to the highest international standard.’

There are 8 awards categories, which in turn indicate the various ways in which teams and organisations are working to apply and embed CSR in all aspects of their corporation. The focus on an organisation or team is thus from all angles, from its philosophy to its daily activities, and includes its efforts regarding the development of local communities such as youth engagement and employment programmes, the empowerment of women, preservation of the environment, and the promotion of academic learning through partnerships. The categories also allow for other forms of skills training, guidance for business start-ups, and supply chain initiatives.

The MENA CSR EXCELLENCE Awards categories are as follows:

  • Best CSR Integrated Business
  • Best CSR Impact Initiative
  • Best Community Development Award
  • Best Female Empowerment Programme Award
  • Best Education Improvement Award
  • Best Employment Generation Award
  • Best Environmental Sustainability Award
  • Best NGO/NPO Award

The deadline for entries is 16th April 2015; the shortlist will be announced on 11th May and the awards will be presented on 19th May at the summit itself.